My Search of the Blogosphere


The blog I selected is a student looking at Kiva for a class in college, similar to myself.  I found this blog to be interesting because it allows me to see another student’s perspective and thoughts on Kiva.  I am extremely interested by the organization, and it appears this student’s class is going more in depth with the organization than our own.  While this blog currently only has three posts, it will be updated weekly throughout the semester.

With the user name “cptnkoolaid,” I was not expecting much out of this blog.  But, they actually bring up a lot of great points about our society today.  In his first post, “Kiva – 001 – The Struggle of Humanity,” he brings up ideas about the wealth distribution in the world and how it is not equal at all.  His dialogue about the family structure and how it is different when a breadwinner has to travel far from home just to make enough to feed his family really got me thinking.  I am lucky to have two loving parents, a stay at home mom and a dad who has always had a stable, traditional job where he was home by 6:30 most nights.  Not many people around the world can consider themselves as fortunate as I can.  When the breadwinner of a family is forced to travel far or work gruelingly long hours just to make enough money to provide dinner for their families, this has a strong impact on the lifestyle of that family.

By providing these struggling families with a microloan, donors can have a bigger impact than they could ever imagine.  What is a small, almost negligible amount to the donor could be the difference between eating and skipping a meal for a poor family.  These microloans allow the breadwinners of a household to more easily provide for their families, leading to a more stable household from which everyone benefits.  I enjoyed reading “cptnkoolaid”s thoughts on Kiva and how closely they matched my own.

5 thoughts on “My Search of the Blogosphere

  1. I agree with you that Kiva successfully opened a door for the “poor” people around the world. Behind this door are all the possibilities they can never think of themselves. I believe they have no idea of banking and investment. All the things they know is pretty much when you borrow people’s money, you need to return it. However, without any solid asset, bankers are never interested in borrow them money. I believe, with Kiva’s help, those “poor” people could bring up their local community’s economy really fast. And I think there will be a chain reaction in those communities’ economic systems such that both consumer and producer can achieve a simple win-win situation.

  2. I found it really interesting that this blog discussed the family structure in relation to Kiva and I enjoyed reading your thoughts. I hadn’t considered family structure in my thoughts on Kiva. I agree that it is important to consider that not all families look the way ours do. My family’s working condition is different from yours, which is probably different from another classmates, which is certainly different from a Kiva borrower. Family structures and working conditions drastically impact how a person and their family live day to day. Some struggle to put food on the table, while others are fortunate enough to be able to contribute to great causes, such as Kiva. I appreciated reading this post because now I will be sure to think about the families that I may affect in charitable contributions or volunteer work I do in the future.

  3. Did you comment on Kool-Aid’s blog?

    Sorry, how is that depiction of commuting bread-winners in the US or a developed country context even relevant to the places Kiva works?

    I don’t mean to harsh to much on you or KoolAid… but have you been to a developing country? My hunch, form experience and from reading, is that Kiva recipients are often figuring out how to take their resources their assets, like land or a small home, and generate wealth. They are not commuting to a wage labor job.

    By the way, i love easy to recall stats.

    Sixty-four percent of children ages 0–17 lived with two married parents in 2012, down from 77 percent in 1980.
    In 2012, 24 percent of children lived with only their mothers, 4 percent lived with only their fathers, and 4 percent lived with neither of their parents.

Leave a Reply

