Sunday School


sunday_school_kids

There is one instance that I can think of that continued to help build my sense of morality and it was made as a agreement so that I could play football. From the time I was little my mother made me go to church. When I was really young I enjoyed church because I only had to sit though the first couple minutes and then I was allowed to go with the other kids and play in the nursery. As I got older though church started to get more demanding on me. I can remember it like it was yesterday. I was going into the 3rd grade and just talked my parents into letting me play football. Getting on to the gridiron came with a price though.  One of the agreements that was made, specifically by my mother, was that I would be required to start going to Sunday school every week before church. Sunday school helped me better understand the Bible, Christianity, and consisted of a lot of arts and crafts, but it was one of the last things that I wanted to do as a hyper youngster. As the years went on I was still required to go to both Sunday school and church and somewhere in my high school days I made an agreement  with my mom that I would just go to church every other week. While going to Sunday school and church was not something that I particularly looked forward to it definitely helped me build a strong moral foundation. It also made my mom and grandma happy.  I don’t necessarily agree with everything that I learned from Sunday school and church. I do believe in a higher power, but questioning things are how we develop as human beings, which goes against some aspects of church. Some of the most important things that I learned were the little things like treating others like you would like to be treated, lending a helping hand to those in need, being thankful for what you have, and how talking to old people can not only make their day, but also bring a smile to your face.

 

7 thoughts on “Sunday School

  1. Derek,
    I definitely shared your point of view about Sunday School when I was a child. When I was young, I never really understood why I went to church. I would sit there, unable to remain still because I had so much pent up energy. Another reason for not enjoying church as a young child was that I didn’t really understand what was going on. As I’ve gotten older, it hit me that church is not as “painful” as I once thought it was. The biblical stories that the priest presents, are in fact, interesting and useful. The Bible’s stories explain how one should act in a variety of life situations. They teach you how to exhibit compassion, care, and honesty. The stories also assist many people in their decision making. I enjoyed your post and look forward to future writings.

  2. I really enjoyed reading about what your take-aways were from Sunday school – “treating others like you would like to be treated, lending a helping hand to those in need, being thankful for what you have, and how talking to old people can not only make their day, but also bring a smile to your face.” I think that all of those lessons are invaluable. Perhaps you may have learned some of those on the football field with that time spent outside, but it’s more likely that you gain those insights from a learning environment with a teacher and classmates. I particularly enjoy talking with old people for a few reasons. They take their time and speak with you unhurriedly, which is something you don’t encounter often with Gen-Y’ers like us. They also have 30+ years on us, which gives them more insight on life. Keep talking to old people. And smiling.

  3. I think your writing is very intimate. I have never officially been to any church, I mean for praying purpose. However, I believe that religious belief could play an important role in people’s morality. In later life, the belief could support someone’s decision in a moral sense. It is great that you can find it meaningful and not just a social activity. I might need to explore this filed in my life later as well.

  4. I think a lot of people would agree with your thoughts in this post. You may not have realized it or enjoyed Sunday School at the time you had to go, but years later, these things can have a strong impact on the person that you are. My family was never a church-going family, so I kind of missed this part of childhood that a lot of people went through. Sometimes I wonder if it put me at a disadvantage, but then I remind myself that I think I turned out okay and with an appropriate set of morals. I feel like the idea of church building your moral foundation is something that people may overlook just because it is not a singular event, so I think it is creative that you chose this for a topic.

      • I guess I was trying to say that it can have a large impact depending on how you view it. I think I turned out fine without it, but it is also more important to some people than others.

Leave a Reply

